Manchester City Council Report for Information

Report to: Council – 17 May 2023

Subject: Seniority of Councillors 2023/24

Report of: City Solicitor

1. Background

1.1 Following the election held on 4 May 2023, and the ballot that the Lord Mayor subsequently conducted on 10 May 2023 to determine the seniority of newly elected councillors without previous qualifying service, the Order of Seniority of Members of the Council is as follows –

Seniority by Office

The Right Worshipful, The Lord Mayor
The Deputy Lord Mayor
The Leader of the Council
The Leader of the Opposition

Patrick Karney

Basil Curley

Glynn Evans

Susan Cooley

Paul Andrews

Joanne Green

John Flanagan

Tom Judge

June Hitchen

Abid Chohan

Naeem Ul-Hassan

John Leech

Andrew Simcock

Veronica Kirkpatrick

Luthfur Rahman

Suzannah Reeves

Rabnawaz Akbar

Suzanne Richards

Julie Reid

Tracey Rawlins

Aftab Razaq

Bev Craig

John Hughes

Carmine Grimshaw

Shelley Lanchbury

Joan Davies

Nasrin Ali

Ahmed Ali

Angeliki Stogia

Shaukat Ali

Joanna Midgley

Afia Kamal

Tina Hewitson

Donna Ludford

Azra Ali

Sandra Collins

Yasmin Dar

John Hacking

James Wilson

Mandie Shilton Godwin

Emily Rowles

Dzidra Noor

Basat Sheikh

Paula Appleby

Dave Rawson

Garry Bridges

Lee-Ann Igbon

Paula Sadler

Emma Taylor

Mahadi Mahamed

Hannah Priest

Zahra Alijah

Chris Wills

Jill Lovecy

Ali Ilyas

Annette Wright

Sam Lynch

Sean McHale

Eve Holt

Sam Wheeler

Adele Douglas

Gavin White

Fias Riasat

Jon-Connor Lyons

Marcus Johns

Tim Whiston

Shazia Butt

Jade Mary Doswell

Amna Saad Omar Abdullatif

Becky Chambers

Richard Kilpatrick**

Julie Connolly

Debbie Hilal

Rob Nunney

Thomas Robinson

Ekua Bayunu

Muqqadash Bano Julia Baker Smith Zahid Hussain Linda Foley Matthew Benham Alan Good Jawad Amin Mohammed Angela Gartside Astrid Johnson Irene Robinson Erinma Bell Murtaza Iqbal Angela Moran Olusegen Ogunbambo Anastasia Wiest* Phil Brickell* Anthony McCaul* Richard Fletcher* Abdigafar Mohamed Muse* Chris Joanne Northwood*

Notes:

City Solicitor 10 May 2023

^{*} The seniority of these members, without previous service as councillors for Manchester, was determined by a random selection process conducted by the Lord Mayor on 10 May 2023.

^{**}Councillor Kirkpatrick has previously served as a councillor 2018-2021